WNBA 2022 season preview

Chicago Sky win first WNBA title

The Chicago Sky beat the Phoenix Mercury 80-74 in game four of the WNBA 2021 finals to win their first championship. Victory made it 3-1 to Chicago in the best-of-five finals series.

Chicago joined the US women's professional basketball league in 2006 and had reached the finals once before. Chicago, who lost 3-0 to Phoenix in the 2014 finals, finished the regular season with a record of 16 wins and 16 defeats. But, seeded sixth of eight teams, they lost just twice in the play-offs.

WNBA 2021 Playoffs
Phoenix - Chicago1 : 3
Connect. - Chicago1 : 3
Las Vegas - Phoenix2 : 3
Minnesota - Chicago76 : 89
Seattle - Phoenix80 : 85
Phoenix - New York83 : 82
Chicago - Dallas81 : 64
3New York37.5
1Las Vegas75.0
6LA Sparks37.5

2022 key dates

The 2021 season will run from May 6 to August 14. Planned changes to the league's schedule included an increase to 36 regular season games for each team. This WNBA season also marks the return of an all-series playoffs, which was last used in 2015.

  • May 6: Regular season starts
  • July 10: WNBA All-Star game, Chicago
  • August 14: Regular season ends
  • August 17: Playoffs begin
  • September 20: Last possible finals date

The preseason odds for the outright winner

These are odds to win WNBA 2022 Championship published by online bookmakers before the start of the season:

Las Vegas Aces4.5New York15
Connecticut Sun4.5Washington19
Chicago Sky5.5Los Angeles31
Seattle Storm6Dallas Wings67
Phoenix Mercury7.5Indiana Fever100
Minnesota Lynx9Atlanta Dream100

In 2022, the Las Vegas Aces will have a new head coach as Becky Hammon replaces Bill Laimbeer. Hammon inherits a loaded roster centered around A'ja Wilson - one of three No.1 draft picks along with guards Kelsey Plum and Jackie Young. While the Aces saw All-Star Liz Cambage leave for Los Angeles and Angel McCoughtry for Minnesota, Vegas did move up in the draft to add forward Mya Hollingshed and guard Kierstan Bell in the first round of the 2022 Draft.

Their roster is almost the same, but the Connecticut Sun will look much different this year as they look to finally win their first title. With Courtney Williams back in Connecticut after two seasons with the Atlanta Dream and Alyssa Thomas fully healthy after missing most of last season with an Achilles injury, the Sun now have six All-Stars. The Sun will finally have an opportunity to see the potential of a fully healthy superstar trio of DeWanna Bonner, Jonquel Jones and Alyssa Thomas.

This is introduction to 2022 WNBA season. Latest news, statistics, results and predictions you can find on our main WNBA page.

The Chicago Sky brings back much of its championship core from a season ago. They did lose Stefanie Dolson, Diamond DeShields and Lexie Brown, but added 2019 Finals MVP Emma Meesseman and guard Julie Allemand to the roster. They likely wouldn't be pleased with anything other than a second championship.

The Seattle Storm return a championship-caliber roster as they re-signed Breanna Stewart and Jewell Loyd, while also adding veteran point guard Briann January and a versatile young wing in Gabby Williams to help offset the losses of Jordin Canada and Katie Lou Samuelson. Seattle was good last year but ended their season with Stewart on the sideline nursing an injury. If they are all healthy again they could add to their championship collection.

WNBA Champions

2021Chicago Sky
2020Seattle Storm
2018Seattle Storm
2017Minnesota Lynx
2016Los Angeles
2015Minnesota Lynx
2014Phoenix Mercury
2013Minnesota Lynx
2012Indiana Fever
2011Minnesota Lynx
2010Seattle Storm
2009Phoenix Mercury
2008Detroit Shock
2007Phoenix Mercury
2006Detroit Shock
2004Seattle Storm
2003Detroit Shock
2002Los Angeles
2001Los Angeles
2000Houston Comets
1999Houston Comets
1998Houston Comets
1997Houston Comets


Atlanta Dream

Centers: Kia Vaughn; Forwards: Monique Billings, Nia Coffey, Naz Hillmon, Cheyenne Parker, Megan Walker; Guards: Maya Caldwell, Tiffany Hayes, Rhyne Howard, Aari McDonald, Kristy Wallace, Erica Wheeler

Chicago Sky

Forwards: Kaela Davis, Ruthy Hebard, Anneli Maley, Emma Meesseman, Emmanuelle Tahane, Masseny Kaba, Tina Krajisnik, Candace Parker, Azura Stevens; Guards: Julie Allemand, Kathleen Doyle, Dana Evans, Rebekah Gardner, Kysre Gondrezick, Allie Quigley, Sparkle Taylor, Courtney Vandersloot, Kahleah Copper, Li Yueru

Connecticut Sun

Forwards: Joyner Holmes, Jonquel Jones, Brionna Jones, Stephanie Jones, Beatrice Mompremier, Alyssa Thomas, DeWanna Bonner; Guards: Yvonne Anderson, Nia Clouden, Natisha Hiedeman, Kiara Smith, Jasmine Thomas, Courtney Williams, DiJonai Carrington

Dallas Wings

Centers: Awak Kuier, Teaira McCowan; Forwards: Isabelle Harrison, Satou Sabally, Unique Thompson, Kayla Thornton, Charli Collier; Guards: Veronica Burton, Allisha Gray, Tyasha Harris, Moriah Jefferson, Marina Mabrey, Arike Ogunbowale, Jasmine Dickey

Indiana Fever

Centers: Alaina Coates, Ameshya Williams-Holliday; Forwards: Emily Engstler, Alanna Smith, NaLyssa Smith, Queen Egbo; Guards: Lindsay Allen, Bria Hartley, Destanni Henderson, Lexie Hull, Tiffany Mitchell, Kelsey Mitchell, Danielle Robinson, Victoria Vivians, Erin Whalen

Las Vegas Aces

Centers: Kiah Stokes; Forwards: Dearica Hamby, Theresa Plaisance, A'ja Wilson; Guards: Kierstan Bell, Sydney Colson, Chelsea Gray, Kelsey Plum, Aisha Sheppard, Riquna Williams, Jackie Young

Los Angeles Sparks

Centers: Liz Cambage, Olivia Nelson-Ododa, Amanda Zahui B; Forwards: Nneka Ogwumike, Katie Lou Samuelson, Jasmine Walker, Chiney Ogwumike, Rae Burrell; Guards: Amy Atwell, Lexie Brown, Jordin Canada, Chennedy Carter, Te'a Cooper, Arella Guirantes, Kianna Smith, Brittney Sykes, Kristi Toliver

Minnesota Lynx

Centers: Sylvia Fowles; Forwards: Natalie Achonwa, Bridget Carleton, Napheesa Collier, Damiris Dantas, Kayla Jones, Jessica Shepard, Hannah Sjerven, Angel McCoughtry, Aerial Powers; Guards: Rachel Banham, Layshia Clarendon, Crystal Dangerfield, Kayla McBride, Yvonne Turner, Rennia Davis

New York Liberty

Centers: Stefanie Dolson, Han Xu; Forwards: Natasha Howard, Sika Kone, Michaela Onyenwere, Nyara Sabally, Lorela Cubaj, Jocelyn Willoughby; Guards: Rebecca Allen, Asia Durr, Sabrina Ionescu, Sami Whitcomb, Betnijah Laney, DiDi Richards

Phoenix Mercury

Centers: Tina Charles, Brittney Griner; Forwards: Emma Cannon, Leaonna Odom, Brianna Turner, Kristine Anigwe, Maya Dodson; Guards: Sophie Cunningham, Diamond DeShields, Skylar Diggins-Smith, Kia Nurse, Shey Peddy, Jennie Simms, Diana Taurasi, Kiana Williams, Vivian Gray, Sam Thomas

Seattle Storm

Centers: Ezi Magbegor, Mercedes Russell; Forwards: Reshanda Gray, Mikiah Herbert Harrigan, Jantel Lavender, Breanna Stewart, Stephanie Talbot, Gabby Williams; Guards: Sue Bird, Briann January, Jewell Loyd, Jade Melbourne, Epiphanny Prince, Evina Westbrook, Kennedy Burke

Washington Mystics

Centers: Shakira Austin, Elizabeth Williams; Forwards: Alysha Clark, Tianna Hawkins, Myisha Hines-Allen, Stephanie Mavunga, Elena Delle Donne; Guards: Ariel Atkins, Katie Benzan, Natasha Cloud, Linnae Harper, Shatori Walker-Kimbrough, Rui Machida