Scottish football : Scottish Premier League 2017/2018 season preview

Celtic win sixth consecutive title

Celtic have won their sixth successive Premiership title in Scotland with eight games to spare last term. This is Celtic's 48th top-flight title in their history, placing them six behind their Old Firm rivals Rangers in the all-time table. Manager Brendan Rodgers says his first season in charge of Celtic has been "a dream" with the club completing a treble without losing a domestic match.

  • Champinos and Cup winners: Celtic (Champions League QR2)
  • Runners-up: Aberdeen (Europa League QR2)
  • Third place: Glasgow Rangers (Europa League QR1)
  • Fourth place: St. Johnstone (Europa League QR1)
  • Relegated: Inverness
  • Promoted: Hibernian
Ross County-57967
Partick Thistle--10896

The overall number of titles (since 1891) for each club in the Scottish Premier League and their league standings in the last five seasons.

McCulloch unveiled as new Kilmarnock manager

Lee McCulloch has been unveiled as the new Kilmarnock manager on a three-year deal after leading the team to Premiership safety. The 39-year-old had been in charge of the Rugby Park side since February, taking over in a caretaker role after the departure of Lee Clarke. After a playing career that took in spells at Motherwell and Wigan Athletic and resulted in 18 international caps, McCulloch joined Kilmarnock as part of manager Gary Locke's backroom team in 2015. When Locke left Rugby Park in early 2016, McCulloch was in charge of the first team for two games until Clark was appointed.

This page is introduction to the 2017/2018 Scottish Premier League season. Latest news, statistics, results and predictions you can find on our main Euro Football > Scotland page.

McCann takes Dundee job

Neil McCann has been appointed Dundee manager in June just days after leaving his position as interim boss. The former Scotland international, who began his professional career at Dens Park 25 years ago, returned to the club in April, charged with guiding them away from relegation trouble over the final five games of the season. Having fulfilled that brief, McCann announced that he was returning to his role as a Sky Sports pundit and the club turned their attentions elsewhere in their search for a new manager. However, he has reversed his decision and taken on the Dundee position long-term.

7Ross C.46-1011-13-14

The SPL standings for season 2016/2017.

Celtic heavy favorites

Finishing a whopping 30 points ahead of their nearest challengers Aberdeen last season, it gives a huge indicator that Celtic are yet again likely to retain their crown. The battle for second place is between Rangers and Aberdeen according to bookmakers.

Rangers13Ross County1001
St Johnstone501Hamilton2001

The preseason odds for the outright winner of the 2017/18 Scottish football league.

Scottish Cup finals in last five seasons

2017   Celtic - Aberdeen   2:1
2016   Hibernian - Rangers   3:2
2015   Inverness Caledonian Thistle - Falkirk   2:1
2014   St. Johnstone - Dundee United   2:0
2013   Celtic - Hibernian   3:0

Scottish League Cup finals in last five seasons

2017   Celtic - Aberdeen   3:0
2016   Ross County - Hibernian   2:1
2015   Celtic - Dundee United   2:0
2014   Aberdeen - Inverness   0:0   (4:2 penalties)
2013   St. Mirren - Hearts   3:2

Key players
(transfer market value in m€)


Goalkeeper Joe Lewis (0.4); Defense: Graeme Shinnie (0.8), Andy Considine (0.6), Mark Reynolds (0.5), Shay Logan (0.5); Midfield: Gary Mackay-Steven (0.8), Kenny McLean (0.6), Ryan Christie (0.6); Forward: Adam Rooney (0.8), Greg Stewart (0.6), Nicky Maynard (0.5).

Celtic Glasgow

Goalkeeper Craig Gordon (2.5); Defense: Jozo Simunovic (3.5), Mikael Lustig (3.5), Erik Sviatchenko (2.8), Kieran Tierney (2); Midfield: Scott Brown (4), Nir Bitton (2.8), Eboue Kouassi (2); Forward: Moussa Dembele (5), Scott Sinclair (4), Leigh Griffiths (2.5).


Goalkeeper Scott Bain (0.4); Defense: Darren O'Dea (0.4), Kostadin Gadzhalov (0.4), Kevin Holt (0.4), James McPake (0.3); Midfield: Scott Allan (0.5), Paul McGowan (0.4), Tom Hateley (0.3), Mark O'Hara (0.3); Forward: Randy Wolters (0.4), Sofien Moussa (0.4).


Goalkeeper Gary Woods (0.3); Defense: Giannis Skondras (0.7), Xavier Tomas (0.5), Michael Devlin (0.4), Georgios Sarris (0.4); Midfield: Ali Crawford (0.8), Grant Gillespie (0.4), Darian Mackinnon (0.4), Greg Docherty (0.3); Forward: Dougie Imrie (0.4), David Templeton (0.3).


Goalkeeper Jack Hamilton (0.4); Defense: Christophe Berra (1), John Souttar (0.6), Connor Randall (0.5); Midfield: Arnaud Djoum (0.6), Don Cowie (0.5), Prince Buaben (0.4), Malaury Martin (0.4); Forward: Kyle Lafferty (1.5), Jamie Walker (0.8), Isma (0.7).


Goalkeeper Ofir Marciano (0.4); Defense: Efe Ambrose (1), Steven Whittaker (1), Paul Hanlon (0.5), Lewis Stevenson (0.5); Midfield: John McGinn (0.6), Danny Swanson (0.5), Marvin Bartley (0.3), Dylan McGeouch (0.3); Forward: Deivydas Matulevicius (0.5), Brian Graham (0.3).


Goalkeeper Jamie MacDonald (0.4); Defense: Kirk Broadfoot (0.4), Scott Boyd (0.4), Steven Smith (0.4), Miles Addison (0.3), Stephen O'Donnell (0.3); Midfield: Chris Burke (0.8), Gary Dicker (0.5), Dom Thomas (0.2); Forward: Kris Boyd (0.4), Rory McKenzie (0.3).


Goalkeeper Trevor Carson (0.3); Defense: Stephen McManus (0.5), Stevie Hammell (0.4), Ben Heneghan (0.3), Richard Tait (0.2), Jack McMillan (0.2); Midfield: Gael Bigirimana (0.4), Andy Rose (0.4), Chris Cadden (0.4); Forward: Louis Moult (0.5), Ryan Bowman (0.2).

Partick Thistle

Goalkeeper Tomas Cerny (0.5); Defense: Callum Booth (0.4), Adam Barton (0.3), Danny Devine (0.3), Mustapha Dumbuya (0.3); Midfield: Stuart Bannigan (0.4), Chris Erskine (0.4), Abdul Osman (0.4), Gary Fraser (0.3); Forward: Kris Doolan (0.4), Steven Lawless (0.3).


Goalkeeper Wes Foderingham (0.5); Defense: Fabio Cardoso (1.5), Lee Wallace (1), Bruno Alves (0.8); Midfield: Graham Dorrans (3.5), Carlos Pena (2.5), Daniel Candeias (1.4), Niko Kranjcar (1); Forward: Eduardo Herrera (1.5), Alfredo Morelos (1), Martyn Waghorn (0.8).

Ross County

Goalkeeper Scott Fox (0.5); Defense: Andrew Davies (0.4), Christopher Routis (0.4), Marcus Fraser (0.3), Sean Kelly (0.3); Midfield: Jim O'Brien (0.4), Martin Woods (0.3), Tim Chow (0.3); Forward: Michael Gardyne (0.4), Billy McKay (0.4), Alex Schalk (0.4).

St. Johnstone

Goalkeeper Alan Mannus (0.4); Defense: Steven Anderson (0.5), Brian Easton (0.4), Joe Shaughnessy (0.4); Midfield: David Wotherspoon (0.5), Murray Davidson (0.5), Liam Craig (0.5), Paul Paton (0.4), Chris Millar (0.4); Forward: Michael O'Halloran (0.5), Steve MacLean (0.4).

Copyright © 2003-2018 www.betinf.com.
All rights reserved.