Soccer / Football : Ireland : Premier Division 2017


Sligo R. 24.4.17
Sligo appoint Lyttle as new manager

Sligo Rovers have confirmed the appointment of Gerard Lyttle as their manager on a two-year deal. The 39-year-old arrives following two years in charge of Northern Irish club Cliftonville. He led the Belfast club to a fourth-place finish and Europa League qualification in his first season as manager in 2015/16 and he departs with them currently fourth as the 2016/17 season approaches its conclusion. Sligo sacked Dave Robertson earlier this month and Lyttle had been strongly linked with the job in recent days.

Limerick 5.4.17
Boland named Limerick interim boss

Limerick have announced that Willie John Boland will take over as first-team manager on an interim basis. The Munster outfit were without a manager following Martin Russell's departure by mutual consent this week having struggled so far this term with only seven points from their opening six league matches. Limerick revealed that Boland, who has been the club's academy director since November 2015, is set for the job in the short-term.

Sligo R. 5.4.17
Sligo sack manager Robertson

Sligo Rovers have parted company with manager Dave Robertson following a disappointing start to their Premier Division Season. They are second bottom with just one win and five points from their first nine games. Declan McIntyre will take temporary charge of first team duties and the club will now begin the search for a new manager.

There is increased pressure on clubs this season to avoid relegation, with the shrinking size of the Premier Division from 12 teams to a reduced 10 teams from next season. This means the bottom three teams will be relegated and just one will come up from the First Division, eliminating the chance to take part in a promotion/relegation play-off as was the norm.

1Cork332311-0-0 (11)
2Dundalk2197-0-4 (11)
3Bray2167-0-4 (11)
4Limerick1654-4-3 (11)
5Derry1544-3-3 (10)
6Shamrock13-34-1-6 (11)
7Drogheda13-84-1-6 (11)
8Bohem.13-94-1-6 (11)
9Finn Har.11-63-2-6 (11)
10Sligo R.10-82-4-5 (11)
11St.Patricks9-72-3-6 (11)
12Galway8-61-5-4 (10)

last results

28.4Bohem. - Finn Har.2 : 0
28.4Cork - Bray2 : 1
28.4Derry - St.Patricks2 : 2
28.4Drogheda - Sligo R.1 : 1
28.4Shamrock - Limerick1 : 1
28.4Galway - Dundalk2 : 1

Irish Premier Division stats

home wins46 %
draws18 %
away wins35 %

League format : Soccer / Football : Ireland : Premier Division 2017

Premier Division (Eircom League) is the top football competition in the Republic of Ireland. In 2003, the Irish Premier Division switched to summer in order to make the league more popular. The Premier Division consists of 12 teams. Each team will play each other three times, a total of 33 matches in the season.

Copyright © 2003-2017 www.betinf.com. All rights reserved.