Football: Austrian Bundesliga 2017/2018 season preview

Another double for Salzburg

Salzburg clinched a fourth straight Austrian Bundesliga title last season and eleventh championship overall. They also completed the domestic double for the fourth time in a row with a 2-1 cup final win against Rapid. Salzburg enter the Champions League in the third qualifying round this season despite them being owned by the same company as German Bundesliga runners-up RB Leipzig. There were doubts over whether the pair, who are both owned by Red Bull, would be able to compete in European club football's elite competition. Following a thorough investigation, UEFA have decided to allow both clubs to participate in this season's Champions League tournament.

  • Champions and Cup winners: Salzburg (Champions League QR2)
  • Runners-up: Austria Vienna(UEFA Europa League QR3)
  • Third place: Sturm Graz (UEFA Europa League QR2)
  • Fourth place: Altach (UEFA Europa League QR1)
  • Relegated: Ried
  • Promoted: LASK Linz

Ried were relegated at the end of last season, while LASK Linz returned to the Austrian top flight six years after their relegation.

Austria V.2414732
Sturm Graz345453
St. Polten-----9
LASK Linz------

The table shows the overall number of titles for each club in Austrian Bundesliga since 1911/12 and their league standings in the last five seasons.

Rose appointed new Salzburg coach

Red Bull Salzburg youth team coach Marco Rose has been promoted and appointed to run the first team. Oscar Garcia's exit from the Austrian champions to take the job at St. Etienne was officially confirmed in June and Salzburg moved quickly to fill the vacancy. Rose coached Salzburg's U-19s to the 2016-17 UEFA Youth League title. The 40-year-old German has signed a two-year contract.

This page contains additional information about the 2017/2018 Austrian Bundesliga season. Latest news, statistics, results and predictions you can find on our main Euro Football > Austria page.

1Salzburg815025-6-5 (36)
2Austria V.632220-3-13 (36)
3Sturm601619-3-14 (36)
4Altach53-315-8-13 (36)
5Rapid461012-10-14 (36)
6Admira46-1913-7-16 (36)
7Matters.43-1512-7-17 (36)
8Wolfsberg42-1911-9-16 (36)
9St. Polten37-199-10-17 (36)
10Ried35-2310-5-21 (36)

Austrian Bundesliga standings for the 2016/2017 season.

Salzburg aims fifth title

Having been champions or runners-up for 12 seasons in a row now, Salzburg last season matched Austria Vienna's historic achievement (from 1977/78 to 1980/81) of winning four Austrian titles in a row. So, the club's aims for this season are clear: fifth title in a row. The bookmakers think they have, by far, the best odds to win the Austrian Bundesliga this campaign.

Salzburg1.29Admira Wacker101
Austria Vienna8Altach126
Rapid Vienna9Mattersburg201
Sturm Graz11St. Polten251
LASK Linz51Wolfsberger251

Preseason odds for the outright winner of the 2017/18 Austrian Bundesliga.

Austrian Cup finals in last five seasons

2017   Salzburg - Rapid   2:1
2016   Salzburg - Admira   5:0
2015   Salzburg - Austria Vienna   2:0   (aet)
2014   Salzburg - St. Polten   4:2
2013   Pasching - Austria Vienna   1:0

Key players
(transfer market value in m€)

Admira Wacker Modling

Goalkeeper Andreas Leitner (0.6); Defense: Markus Wostry (0.6), Stephan Zwierschitz (0.6), Thomas Ebner (0.6), Fabio Strauss (0.6); Midfield: Christoph Knasmullner (0.8), Markus Lackner (0.5), Daniel Toth (0.4); Forward: Dzon Delarge (1.3), Srdjan Spiridonovic (0.5), Dominik Starkl (0.5).


Goalkeeper Andreas Lukse (1); Defense: Benedikt Zech (0.6), Andreas Lienhart (0.6), Philipp Netzer (0.6), Lucas Galvao (0.5); Midfield: Simon Piesinger (0.5), Stefan Nutz (0.5), Louis Ngwat-Mahop (0.5), Boris Prokopic (0.5); Forward: Nicolas Moumi Ngamaleu (0.8), Adrian Grbic (0.3).

Austria Vienna

Goalkeeper Robert Almer (1); Defense: Petar Filipovic (1), Jens Stryger Larsen (1), Christoph Martschinko (0.9); Midfield: Raphael Holzhauser (3), Alexander Grunwald (2), Tarkan Serbest (1.5); Forward: Olarenwaju Kayode (4), Lucas Venuto (2.3), Ismael Tajouri (1.3), Felipe Pires (1.3).


Goalkeeper Pavao Pervan (0.4); Defense: Paulo Otavio (0.5), Reinhold Ranftl (0.5), Christian Ramsebner (0.4), Felix Luckeneder (0.4); Midfield: James Holland (0.6), Gernot Trauner (0.6), Peter Michorl (0.5), Dogan Erdogan (0.5); Forward: Rene Gartler (0.4), Bruno (0.4).


Goalkeeper Markus Kuster (0.8); Defense: Cesar Ortiz (0.5), Florian Hart (0.4), Nedeljko Malic (0.4), Lukas Rath (0.3); Midfield: Jano (0.5), Andreas Gruber (0.4), Michael Perlak (0.3); Forward: Masaya Okugawa (0.4), Smail Prevljak (0.4), Patrick Burger (0.4).


Goalkeeper Richard Strebinger (0.5); Defense: Christopher Dibon (1), Boli Bolingoli-Mbombo (0.9), Mario Sonnleitner (0.8); Midfield: Louis Schaub (3), Stefan Schwab (2), Philipp Schobesberger (2), Ivan Mocinic (1.5), Thomas Murg (1); Forward: Joelinton (1.3), Giorgi Kvilitaia (1).

Red Bull Salzburg

Goalkeeper Alexander Walke (0.8); Defense: Duje Caleta-Car (2.5), Stefan Lainer (2), Paulo Miranda (1.5); Midfield: Diadie Samassekou (2.5), Marc Rzatkowski (1.5), Xaver Schlager (1.3), Reinhold Yabo (1); Forward: Munas Dabbur (5), Valon Berisha (4), Hee-Chan Hwang (4).

St. Polten

Goalkeeper Christoph Riegler (0.4); Defense: David Stec (0.5), Babacar Diallo (0.4), Michael Huber (0.3), Daniel Petrovic (0.3); Midfield: Michael Ambichl (0.5), Manuel Martic (0.4), Daniel Schutz (0.4), Lukas Thurauer (0.4); Forward: Roope Riski (0.4), Devante Parker (0.3).

Sturm Graz

Goalkeeper Jorg Siebenhandl (0.5); Defense: Charalampos Lykogiannis (1.8), Lukas Spendlhofer (1.5), Christian Schulz (0.8), Fabian Koch (0.7); Midfield: James Jeggo (1), Stefan Hierlander (0.8), Marc Andre Schmerbock (0.8), Philipp Huspek (0.6); Forward: Deni Alar (1.5), Thorsten Rocher (0.6).


Goalkeeper Alexander Kofler (0.5); Defense: Nemanja Rnic (0.5), Michael Sollbauer (0.5), Christian Klem (0.5); Midfield: Daniel Offenbacher (0.5), Gerald Nutz (0.5), Christopher Wernitznig (0.5), Boris Huttenbrenner (0.4), Florian Flecker (0.4); Forward: Issiaka Ouedraogo (0.5), Dever Orgill (0.4).

Copyright © 2003-2018 www.betinf.com.
All rights reserved.