Swiss football : Swiss Super League 2017/2018 season preview

Basel win eight successive Swiss title

Basel won their eighth successive league title, wrapping it up with six games to spare last season. The title was never in any real doubt after Basel won their first nine games, opening up a 13-point lead at the top. The title also qualifies Basel directly into the group stage of the Champions League this season. Still, a second straight title under coach Urs Fischer could not save his job. Former Switzerland midfielder Raphael Wicky has been appointed to take over as first-team coach this season. Here is the short summary for the 2016/17 season:

  • Champions and Cup winners: Basel (Champions League group stage)
  • Runners-up: Young Boys (Champions League QR3)
  • Third place: Lugano (UEFA Europa League group stage)
  • Fourth place: Sion (UEFA Europa League QR3)
  • Fifth place: Luzern (UEFA Europa League QR2)
  • Vaduz (UEFA Europa League QR1)
  • Relegated: Vaduz
  • Promoted: Zurich

Vaduz qualified for the UEFA Europa League first qualifying round by winning the 2015/16 Liechtenstein Cup.

Young Boys1173222
St. Gallen237677

The table shows the overall number of titles for each club in Swiss Super League since the 1897/98 season and their league standings in the last five campaigns.

Basel to kick off next season with new manager

Basel have promoted U21 coach Raphael Wicky to become their next head coach, starting this season. He replaces Urs Fischer, signing a two-year contract with the Swiss champions. It will be the first job as first team head coach for the former Switzerland international, who played for Bundesliga sides Werder Bremen and Hamburg as well as for Spanish club Atletico. Wicky will be Basel's sixth different coach to start a season since 2011. Fischer says in a statement he knew since January that changes were likely under new club management.

This page is introduction to the 2017/2018 Swiss Super League season. Latest news, statistics, results and predictions you can find on our main Euro Football > Switzerland page.

Other coaching changes

Sion have named Paolo Tramezzani as their new boss. The Italian coach spent five years as Albania's assistant manager, then coached Swiss club Lugano to a third-place finish last season. Lugano, meanwhile, have appointed Pierluigi Tami as their new trainer, while former Swiss defender Marc Schneider replaces Mauro Lustrinelli at Thun.

1Basel865726-8-2 (36)
2Young B.692820-9-7 (36)
3Lugano53-915-8-13 (36)
4Sion51515-6-15 (36)
5Luzern50-414-8-14 (36)
6Thun45-511-12-13 (36)
7St Gallen41-1411-8-17 (36)
8Grasshop.38-1410-8-18 (36)
9Lausanne35-119-8-19 (36)
10Vaduz30-337-9-20 (36)

Swiss Super League standings for the 2016/2017 season.

Basel favourites to defend title

Basel will be aiming for their ninth consecutive Swiss Super League title and the bookmakers have every confidence that they will win the crown again this season. Basel's main title rivals will be Young Boys and Zurich.

Young Boys10Grasshoppers101
Lugano34St. Gallen251

Preseason odds for the outright winner of the 2017/18 Swiss football league.

Swiss Cup finals in last five seasons

2017   Basel - Sion   3:0
2016   Zurich - Lugano   1:0
2015   Sion - Basel   3:0
2014   Zurich - Basel   2:0   (aet)
2013   Grasshoppers - Basel   1:1   (5-4 on penalties)

Key players
(transfer market value in m€)


Goalkeeper Tomas Vaclik (4); Defense: Michael Lang (4.5), Marek Suchy (3.8), Eder Balanta (3), Omar Gaber (1.5); Midfield: Luca Zuffi (4), Taulant Xhaka (4), Mohamed Elyounoussi (3.5), Renato Steffen (3), Geoffroy Serey Die (1.5); Forward: Ricky van Wolfswinkel (3.5).


Goalkeeper Heinz Lindner (1); Defense: Emil Bergstrom (2), Jan Bamert (1.5), Milan Vilotic (1), Numa Lavanchy (1); Midfield: Runar Mar Sigurjonsson (1.5), Lucas Andersen (1.3), Marko Basic (1); Forward: Marco Djuricin (1.5), Florian Kamberi (0.7), Ridge Munsy (0.6).


Goalkeeper Thomas Castella (0.7); Defense: Leandro Marin (1.3), Nicolas Getaz (0.6), Jeremy Maniere (0.4); Midfield: Yeltsin Tejeda (1.5), Samuele Campo (1.5), Alexandre Pasche (0.6), Benjamin Kololli (0.6); Forward: Gabriel Torres (0.9), Kwang-Ryong Pak (0.8), Francesco Margiotta (0.8).


Goalkeeper David Da Costa (0.4); Defense: Vladimir Golemic (0.6), Fulvio Sulmoni (0.6), Goran Jozinovic (0.5), Bruno Martignoni (0.4); Midfield: Jonathan Sabbatini (1.3), Domen Crnigoj (0.8), Davide Mariani (0.5), Dragan Mihajlovic (0.3); Forward: Antonini Culina (1), Karim Rossi (0.5).


Goalkeeper Jonas Omlin (0.5); Defense: Francois Affolter (0.8), Claudio Lustenberger (0.5), Simon Grether (0.5), Christian Schwegler (0.5); Midfield: Hekuran Kryeziu (1.5), Olivier Custodio (1), Christian Schneuwly (0.8), Francisco Rodriguez (0.7); Forward: Tomi Juric (1.3), Cedric Itten (0.6).


Goalkeeper Anton Mitryushkin (2); Defense: Federico Dimarco (2), Kevin Constant (1.8), Elsad Zverotic (0.8), Nicolas Luchinger (0.8); Midfield: Adryan (3), Carlitos (1.5), Gregory Karlen (1), Birama Ndoye (0.9); Forward: Moussa Konate (4), Marco Schneuwly (1.3).

St. Gallen

Goalkeeper Daniel Lopar (0.8); Defense: Silvan Hefti (1.5), Martin Angha (0.8), Andreas Wittwer (0.7); Midfield: Tranquillo Barnetta (1.5), Yannis Tafer (1.3), Danijel Aleksic (1.3), Nzuzi Toko (1.2), Marco Aratore (0.8); Forward: Albian Ajeti (1.5), Roman Buess (1).


Goalkeeper Guillaume Faivre (0.8); Defense: Roy Gelmi (1), Mickael Facchinetti (0.7), Kevin Bigler (0.5), Stefan Glarner (0.5); Midfield: Dennis Hediger (0.8), Joel Geissmann (0.6), Matteo Tosetti (0.6), Marvin Spielmann (0.5); Forward: Simone Rapp (0.8), Dejan Sorgic (0.5).

Young Boys

Goalkeeper David von Ballmoos (0.5); Defense: Gregory Wuthrich (1.5), Loris Benito (1.5), Steve von Bergen (1); Midfield: Yoric Ravet (3), Sekou Sanogo (2.5), Miralem Sulejmani (2.5), Leonardo Bertone (1.5), Thorsten Schick (1.3); Forward: , Alexander Gerndt (2), Guillaume Hoarau (2).


Goalkeeper Andris Vanins (0.3); Defense: Pa Modou (1.3), Cedric Brunner (0.9), Umaru Bangura (0.8), Kay Voser (0.5); Midfield: Marco Schonbachler (1.8), Adrian Winter (0.6), Roberto Rodriguez (0.5), Antonio Marchesano (0.5); Forward: Michael Frey (2), Moussa Kone (0.5).

Copyright © 2003-2018 www.betinf.com.
All rights reserved.