Formula 1 2017 season preview: teams, drivers, calendar and regulations

Ecclestone removed as Liberty Media completes takeover

Bernie Ecclestone has been removed from his position running Formula 1 as US giant Liberty Media completed its takeover of the sport. Ecclestone, who has been in charge for nearly 40 years, has been appointed chairman emeritus and will act as an adviser to the board.

Chase Carey has had Ecclestone's former role of chief executive officer added to his existing position of chairman. Liberty has also brought ex-Mercedes team boss Ross Brawn back to F1. Brawn, who had been acting as a consultant to Liberty, has been appointed to lead the sporting and technical side of F1.

Calendar for season 2017

The 2017 Formula One season start on March 26 in Melbourne and ends on November 26 in Abu Dhabi, after 20 races. The German Grand Prix was removed from the calendar after the owners of the Hockenheimring and Nurburgring circuits were unable to agree to commercial terms with Formula One Management. The Baku event was renamed, becoming the first Azerbaijan Grand Prix. The previous race ran under the European Grand Prix title in 2016.

#dategrand prixcircuit
126.3AustralianMelbourne Grand Prix Circuit, Melbourne
39.4ChineseShanghai International Circuit, Shanghai
216.4BahrainBahrain International Circuit, Sakhir
430.4RussianSochi Autodrom, Sochi
514.5SpanishCircuit de Barcelona-Catalunya, Barcelona
628.5MonacoCircuit de Monaco, Monte Carlo
711.6CanadianCircuit Gilles Villeneuve, Montreal
825.6AzerbaijanBaku City Circuit, Baku
99.7AustrianRed Bull Ring, Spielberg
1016.7BritishSilverstone Circuit, Silverstone
1130.7HungarianHungaroring, Budapest
1227.8BelgianCircuit de Spa-Francorchamps, Spa
133.9ItalianAutodromo Nazionale Monza, Monza
1417.9SingaporeMarina Bay Street Circuit, Singapore
151.10MalaysianSepang International Circuit, Kuala Lumpur
168.10JapaneseSuzuka Circuit, Suzuka
1722.10USCircuit of the Americas, Austin
1829.10MexicanAutodromo Hermanos Rodriguez, Mexico City
1912.11BrazilianAutodromo Jose Carlos Pace, Sao Paulo
2026.11Abu DhabiYas Marina Circuit, Abu Dhabi

Main team changes

Manor have collapsed after falling into administration.

Toro Rosso will return to using Renault power units in 2017, having used 2015-specification Ferrari power units in 2016. The team had previously used Renault power units in 2014 and 2015.

Sauber will use one year-old Ferrari power units, mirroring the arrangement between Ferrari and Toro Rosso in 2016.

Driver changes in 2017

Reigning champion Nico Rosberg retired from the sport at the end of the 2016 season. Valtteri Bottas was released by Williams to sign as his replacement at Mercedes.

Felipe Massa, who had intended to retire at the end of the 2016 season, extended his contract with Williams, alongside 2016 European Formula 3 Championship winner Lance Stroll, who was originally hired by the team to replace Massa.

Stoffel Vandoorne replaced Jenson Button, who took a sabbatical from racing in 2017 while staying on with the team as a reserve driver.

Pascal Wehrlein, who drove for MRT in 2016, moved to Sauber for the 2017 season where he replaced Felipe Nasr.

Kevin Magnussen moved from Renault to Haas. As a result, Esteban Gutierrez's contract with Haas was not renewed.

Esteban Ocon moved from MRT to Force India, filling the seat left vacant by Nico Hulkenberg's departure to Renault.

Technical regulations

The FIA claim substantial gains of over three seconds are expected in 2017 through the "aerodynamic rules evolution, wider tires and reduction of car weight".

The cars will be two metres wide - 20 centimetres wider than they have been for the past 20 years. The width of the tyres has also been increased by more than 20%.

The leading edge of the barge boards being brought forward to allow teams more freedom in controlling airflow.

The height of the rear wing has been lowered by 15cm. It will also be 15cm wider, be mounted 20cm further back and be angled to have a greater overhang. The rules allow rear diffuser to be taller, wider and further forward.

The minimum weight of the car including the driver being raised by 20 kg to 722 kg, with teams allowed to use 105 kg of fuel to account for the increase in minimum weight.

Teams are restricted to four power units per season regardless of the number of Grands Prix in the season. The engine token system has been removed, allowing unrestricted development. The cost of a power unit supply is reduced by €1 million in 2017 ahead of a further reduction in 2018.

Sporting regulations

If the race is declared wet and must start behind the safety car, the grid will follow normal starting procedures once conditions are declared satisfactory for racing. Drivers will line up on the grid for a standing start once the safety car pulls into pit lane.

During any single event, if a driver introduces more than one of a power unit element that is subject to penalty, only the last element fitted may be used at subsequent events without further penalty. This is to prevent the stockpiling of spare power unit elements.

2017 teams and drivers line-up


chasis: SF70H   engine: Ferrari 062
drivers: [5] Sebastian Vettel, [7] Kimi Raikkonen

Force India

chasis: VJM10   engine: Mercedes M08 EQ Power+
drivers: [11] Sergio Perez, [31] Esteban Ocon


chasis: VF-17   engine: Ferrari 062
drivers: [8] Romain Grosjean, [20] Kevin Magnussen

McLaren Honda

chasis: MCL32   engine: Honda RA617H
drivers: [2] Stoffel Vandoorne, [14] Fernando Alonso


chasis: F1 W08   engine: Mercedes M08 EQ Power+
drivers: [44] Lewis Hamilton, [77] Valtteri Bottas

Red Bull Racing

chasis: RB13   engine: TAG Heuer
drivers: [3] Daniel Ricciardo, [33] Max Verstappen


chasis: RS17   engine: Renault RE17
drivers: [27] Nico Hulkenberg, [30] Jolyon Palmer


chasis: C36   engine: Ferrari 061
drivers: [9] Marcus Ericsson, [94] Pascal Wehrlein

Toro Rosso

chasis: STR12   engine: Renault RE17
drivers: [26] Daniil Kvyat, [55] Carlos Sainz Jr.


chasis: FW40   engine: Mercedes M08 EQ Power+
drivers: [18] Lance Stroll, [19] Felipe Massa

2016 driver standings

12Sainz Jr.46

2016 team standings

2Red Bull468
4Force India173
7Toro Rosso63

Copyright © 2003-2018 www.betinf.com.
All rights reserved.